Charlie and Trike in the Grand Canyon Adventure {Twitter Party & Review}

I have been hearing about “Charlie and Trike in the Grand Canyon Adventure” for a while now in Christian blogging circles.  I had a nice picture in my head of what the book would be like – this little boy (maybe around 9 or so), with crazy sticking-out-everywhere blonde hair, and his red tricycle….that somehow had something to do with the Grand Canyon.

So I was a little bit surprised when I received the book to review from New Leaf Publishing for the Moms of Masterbooks program.

First off, Charlie is a monkey.  And Trike is not a tricycle (ROFL), but rather a dinosaur.


My soon-to-be 6-year-old helped to take a lot of these pictures!  🙂

One of the things that we especially loved about this book was all of the little “treats” included in it – the fold-out maps, fossil facts, info about the Grand Canyon and the different types of rocks.

A lot of the books that we’ve read talk about how the earth was once very different, and the changes in the sea level and the heights of the mountains accounts for finding fossils of fish and other sea-life at the top of tall mountains today.  In this book, Trike tells Charlie about the Great Flood, and we learn that the mountains were submerged under 20 feet of water!

Not only did the book teach about one of God’s great wonders, but there was a sub-lesson about judging others based on their appearance.

Some neat things we learned:

Did you know that the Grand Canyon can be seen from the moon?

Or that the first explorer to travel the Colorado river from start to finish was a one-armed explorer named John Powell?

What about that the melt-off from winter snow makes the Colorado river only slightly warmer than the Atlantic Ocean – about 45 degrees Fahrenheit?! Wow!

Would you like to win a copy of this book? You can!

First check out the Moms of MasterBooks for their review of the book:

Eryn – MamaHall

Rebecca – Moms Mustardseeds.com

Ashley – LIFE by Ashley Pichea

Stephanie – Bowmania

Cindy – Get Along Home

Christy – DevotionMama

Gretta Johns – The Johns Family

and this blog, Steph – MomKaboodle

Then follow along on Twitter using hashtag #teachthetruth on Tuesday, June 21st at 6 PM PST/7 PM MDT/8 PM CST/9 PM EST.

The answers to the questions asked during the Twitter party can be found on each of the blogs listed above – and improve your chances of winning!

Click the badge below to find out more details about the party:

Moms of Masterbooks

Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book in exchange for my personal review from New Leaf Publishing Group. All opinions are my own, and were not influenced in any way.

Comments

  1. Looking forward to the party !!!

  2. Great review…I'll have to get this for my niece in a few years. I'm visiting from iFellowship.